L♥DK – Movie Review

L♥DK – Movie Review

The very first movie review!!! I promised to also blog about movies and here I am fulfilling my promise and the first movie to be reviewed is called L♥DK aka L.DK aka Love Cohabitation. The movie is adapted from a shoujo manga with the same name by Watanabe Ayu that’s until now still ongoing. If you’re curious about the manga you can google it and find the English scanlation online up to 50th chapter. Of course buying the physical manga is still very recommended.

Okay let’s talk about the movie. This might sound annoying for some people but I enjoy the movie very much. The romance and pairing may not be the best but they still make me squeal HARD. Adapted from a shoujo manga that everything is supposed to be romantic, let’s pretend that everything’s sweet and romantic in this movie. Some points really bother me though. As a live action, it has enough substance to it so you’re not left with what-the-hell-did-i-just-watch feeling. Even though I’m not going to lie, I prefer the manga since it’s more complex and detailed. The live action misses out a big chunk of thrill that the manga has. But I like how the live action wraps the story and making it really sweet like it’s dripping in honey. The basic premise is,

“Aoi Nishimori’s (Ayame Gouriki) parents moved to another city for work, but Aoi didn’t want to transfer to a new high school. She stays behind and lives in an apartment by herself. Shusei Kugayama (Kento Yamazaki) moves in next to Aoi’s apartment. Shusei is a very popular student at their high school. Due to a mistake, Aoi makes the sprinkler go off in his room. Until Shusei’s room is fixed, he stays with Aoi.” quoted from Asianwiki.com

The plot is very basic right? Like regular high school romance but what makes it different is the two leads are living under the same roof. The plot doesn’t get stuck there. It’s actually deeper than that because Shusei is hiding something from Aoi. Shusei is in deep guilt for something that’s not even his fault. He feels guilty towards Satsuki (played by Anna Ishibashi) and apparently Satsuki is in love with Shusei so she’s kind of toying with him. Satsuki as a character is annoying as hell. Probably one of my most disliked characters in my watching history. Largely because of they way Anna acts.

The romance is thereeee. It’s romantic, yes, since it’s adapted from a shoujo manga. My favorite romantic scene got to be that one scene when Aoi and Shusei both are “trying” to sleep but the thunder outside is too loud and scaring the hell out of Aoi. Aoi seems to have some bad problem with thunder then Shusei lends his hand for Aoi to hold. To lessen her fear. Man, I squeal hard! Before this scene, Shusei is very mean towards Aoi and doesn’t care at all about her but in this scene it shows that he does care! He cares about Aoi and he wants her to feel safe.

There is one thing that I want to point out, the relationship between Aoi and Moe (played by Rei Okamoto) is so sincere. They understand each other and there’s nothing more beautiful than that. When Aoi admits that she loves Shusei to Moe,  Moe still supports Aoi and move on.

The ending scene!!! The Star Festival is pure loveeeeeeee. I love fireworks (only the visual of it when they burst in the sky but not they super noisy sound they make) and the movie introduced me to a new level of fireworks, the fireworks that burst into the shape of love in the sky kyaaaaaa.

take me to Japan to watch this Star Festival if it really exists

Shusei’s love confession to Aoi is sweet!

“I thought I didn’t understand the feelings of falling for someone. But that wasn’t it! I’m just afraid. Still, it brought me straight to you. I won’t run away anymore! I want to make you smile. I want to face you properly.  Please be my girlfriend!” – Shusei

And Japaneses always bow 90deg every time they confess?

And the scene wraps up with the last love fireworks shoot to the sky and a sweet kiss. Shusei is still playful until the end and the most unexpected thing happens. Shusei gifts Aoi a necklace that Aoi adore from the other day.

The live action is consistent with the manga. Shusei is 100% playful and jerk, never even once in serious mode in the manga and it’s actually pretty nice to see it being brought to life in this live action. Shusei is still naughty even right after he confesses his feeling to Aoi. Aoi is almost 100% in sync with the manga and I also quite like that even though I personally hate heroine who is weak.

Now, into the casts and their acting.

Like usual, Kento Yamazakis character is “the perfect guy” and he’s killing it. I know that this is a 2014 movie but I just wish Kento would pick something new and different for his acting projects. His role in Death Note and  Hiroin Shikkaku are the same with his character in this movie. His character in Orange is a little bit different though and I thank God he picked up that live action project. But, not going to lie, I want him to expand his acting scope and pick more diverse roles. Being a psycho person on his next project, maybe? Or a blind man or a mentally disturbed man. I want him to try many different roles to grow as an actor because simply, I’m a fan. I want the best for him.

Ayame Gouriki does overreact at some point but not to the point of being extremely annoying. She’s great in delivering the right emotion during her crying scenes because it feels like it is me who is being left alone by Shusei. It’s a joy watching her being happy and she’s quite natural and overall, her good acting overcome her over the top reaction.

Like I mentioned earlier, I just hate Anna’s acting. It’s just, I don’t know. There’s just something about her acting that I hate. She’s stiff and stiff and stiff and stiff. Plus her character is annoying as hell. How to even describe this into good english.

If you’re familiar with my review style you must know that I usually also review the cinematography and music but in this movie I don’t really impressed with both especially the cinematography. The image quality doesn’t wow me, it looks like regular kdrama quality. I always expect movies to have higher level of cinematography and image quality than dramas so L.DK just feels and looks like regular kdrama in both categories which is a let down for me personally. I’m really sorry, I’m too spoiled with great cinematography and image quality of korean dramas and movies so I expect other countries’ dramas and movies also offer the same quality.

This is the end of my very first movie review. It amazes me tbh. The first draft for this was LESS than 500 words but the final one is almost 1400 words I’m impressed with myself LOL. Anyway, since this is the first, surely the second the third the fourth and the Nth will be posted. Originally the second movie I supposed to review was Beauty Inside but with this and that consideration, I’m thinking about reviewing Sado / 사도 (the official english title is The Throne) next. The movie, for me, is the best 2015 movie. Despite snatching many trophies from movie awards and being Korea’s bet for Oscar 2016, it doesn’t get the praises it deserves from international fans since ifans prefer Veteran to this as the best 2nd half movie of 2015. I’ll post the next movie review (70% will be Sado) within the span of one month from today. See you around!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Movie Reviews | Red watches TV

Leave a Reply

