tvN’s Upcoming Drama Lineup

tvN’s upcoming drama lineup is lit. After experiencing a period of slump tvN has finally waken up and stepped up their game. I haven’t watched anything released by them since Dear My Friends due to real life obligations so I actually do not know exactly what cause their slump but reading comments on the internet it seemed that the script took most of the blame (the tragic Entourage everyone?)

The upcoming dramas from them that I really look forward are Live Up to Your Name and Argon, scheduled to air in August and September respectively.

Kim Nam Gil and Kim Ah Joong

Live Up to Your Name is a time-slip medical drama something like Dr Jin and Faith. Something that is almost overused in this kdrama universe but I am willing to watch the same thing over again only for Kim Nam Gil and Kim Ah Joong. I am a fan of both and this is also Kim Nam Gil comeback to the small screen after that tragic drama, Shark. Kim Nam Gil will be playing a real-life figure, Heo Im, an oriental doctor acknowledged as the best in acupuncture and moxibustion in Joseon. Meanwhile Kim Ah Joong will be playing a cold-personality doctor from the cardiothoracic division. Kim Nam Gil’s character will be traveling back and forth between the past and the present and I just hope he won’t die in this drama.

Kim Joo Hyuk and Chun Woo Hee

Kim Joo Hyuk (Gutaeng hyunggggg) and Chun Woo Hee are confirmed to take lead role in Argon. Argon will be centered around reporters’ lives and their profession. Something boring, yes. The director is the CITT director, very worrying. But again, I am willing to risk everything because I am a fan of Kim Joo Hyuk. Not a big fan of Chun Woo Hee but she’s totally a girl crush. I know I can trust their acting so I am in! No other news about the casting for other roles yet so far.

But let’s be honest, I’m more thrilled for Live Up to Your Name. The director is the Dear My Friends director, the plot is more promising, and Kim Nam Gil. Seriously, I survived Shark because of him. I only need him as my reason to keep watching. I know I’m biased but what to do with this poor heart.

Make sure to catch Live Up to Your Name and Argon once it’s released!

With Love,
Red

Leave a Reply

